Introduction to: Meet the Nerd and the Turtle *A Sort-of Travel Blog*

Introduction To

I have introduced myself a little. However, I feel like I should let you in on WHY this blog exists. Since I was a sophomore in high school, I wanted to travel. For a living. I wrote a paper on gypsy life for a school paper and really thought the idea was cool. I researched how to turn a school bus into a home and thought, “yes, I can do that!”

Well, back in the early 2000s, when I was in high school, “living off grid,” “in a school bus,” “alone” were not things people thought were good ideas. So, I put that idea in the back of  my mind for a looooong time.

High School Journalism Photo

High School Journalism Photo

I went through a period of my life when I got married, got a dog, bought a stick and brick (or “traditional foundation”) home and thought I was happy. I wasn’t, for a plethora of reasons. I didn’t need a giant two story, 3+ bedroom, 1600 sq ft home.

My life has changed course pretty drastically in the last year, and I only hope it keeps changing. I got divorced, quit my job I hated, went back to school to finish my photography degree and I currently live in a one bed apartment with my cat and my dog (hopefully soon to include my boyfriend and his two cats). I just finished my second degree in digital photography in May and I work as the Director of a small summer camp here in Central Ohio.

image

I am the Turtle.

Now, the Nerd half of this adventure is my boyfriend, Nik. He was elated from the moment I sheepishly announced to him a couple months into knowing each other (we hadn’t even started dating yet!) that I want to live in a tiny home. One that moves. He was immediately on board AND stated that he had gone down a path with his life that he hadn’t wanted, too.

However, the good news is that we are beginning this journey together. We both want to travel, don’t need tons of “home,” and have separate AND combined skills that should make Tiny Home living and working a soon-to-be reality.

This is the Nerd.

This is how Nikky looked the night I met him! June 2014

This is how Nikky looked the night I met him! June 2014

Nikky is in a metal band called Arterial Mist and we met at a benefit concert the week of my birthday in June 2014. His first impression was cute, so I Facebook stalked him and made him have Waffle House with me a couple weeks after we met. As they say, the “rest is history!”

The NerdTurtle

The NerdTurtle, Winter 2014/2015

We are in a state of debt reduction and floorplan/renovation research. Subsequent blog posts will be a combination of cheap-to-free summer activities (so as to reduce spending money), visits to RV sales, and research on Full Time RV living. We hope you come back soon!

~The Wanderlusting NerdTurtle

Leave a comment